Virginia Capital Photos

Members of the Virginia State Crime Commission

The Commission consists of 13 members that include nine legislative members, three non-legislative citizen members, and one state official as follows: six members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; three members of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; three non-legislative citizen members to be appointed by the Governor; and the Attorney General or his designee. Non-legislative citizen members must be citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The term of each appointee is for two years, except that the Attorney General and legislative members shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. The Commission elects a chairman and vice-chairman annually, who shall be members of the General Assembly.

Delegate Robert B. Bell


Delegate C. Todd Gilbert


Delegate Charniele L. Herring


Delegate Paul E. Krizek


Vacancy; House of Delegates


Vacancy; House of Delegates


Cynthia E. Hudson

Chief Deputy, Attorney General's Office
Designee for Attorney General Mark R. Herring



Senator Mark D. Obenshain


Senator Janet D. Howell


Senator Thomas K. Norment, Jr.


Kristine R. Hall

Gubernatorial Appointee

Sheriff Arthur Townsend Jr.

Lunenburg County
Gubernatorial Appointee

Chief John Venuti

Associate Vice President of Campus Safety/Chief of Police, VCU Police Department
Gubernatorial Appointee