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Executive Summary

During the 2011 Regular Session of the Virginia General Assembly, Senate Joint
Resolution 348 was enacted, which directed the Crime Commission to study and report
on sex offender registry requirements. The resolution specifically directed the Crime
Commission to focus on the requirements imposed by the federal government and the
extent to which Virginia is currently in compliance with those requirements. The
resolution also directed the Crime Commission to determine whether registration and
notification laws are effective methods of reducing sexual victimizations.

Sex offender registry laws are a relatively new development in the field of public safety.
To date, there have been only a few peer reviewed academic studies that have examined
the effectiveness of registries in reducing sex crimes. Those that have been published
have not reached a definitive conclusion on this issue. The different laws and registry
schemes used in other states prevents generalizing the results of these studies to
Virginia. While criminologists, sociologists, and other researchers will continue to study
the effects of sex offender registries in the coming years, at this point, any attempt to
derive a final conclusion from the available studies would be premature.

In 2006, Congress passed the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, or SORNA,
requiring states to maintain sex offender registries and providing detailed requirements
on how those registries must be maintained and updated, as well as which criminal
convictions must result in registration, and for what lengths of time. SORNA categorizes
all sex offenders into three “Tiers,” depending upon the seriousness of the crime for
which the offender was convicted. States are free to develop their own systems of
categorization, provided that all offenders are on the states’ registries for as long as they
would be under the federal scheme. SORNA requires juvenile sex offenders, 14 years of
age or older, who have been convicted of violent sex offenses to be registered. This
requirement applies even if the juvenile was tried as a juvenile and did not receive an
adult conviction.

Virginia categorizes all sex offenders into two “Tiers”: registered sex offenders, and
offenders who have been convicted of a “sexually violent offense.” Under Virginia law,
juveniles who have been adjudicated delinquent of a sex offense may be required to
register, if the prosecutor requests this, and the trial judge makes a specific
determination that the circumstances of the offense require the juvenile to be
registered. Registration of juveniles is not automatic, however. As of July 17, 2011,
there were a total of 18,287 offenders in total on Virginia’s sex offender registry; 3,308
were convicted of a registerable sex offense, and 14,979 were convicted of a “sexually
violent offense.”

States which fail to substantially comply with the requirements of SORNA are subject to
a ten percent reduction in the amount of Byrne funding they receive. While the amount
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of Byrne funding Virginia has received has varied considerably over the years, in Fiscal
Year 2010, Virginia received approximately $5,934,000, meaning that Virginia could
lose approximately $600,000 if it is determined that Virginia’s statutes do not
substantially comply with SORNA. It was preliminarily determined that Virginia’s laws
do not meet the requirements of SORNA, due to the fact that juvenile offenders who
have committed violent sex crimes are not automatically required to be registered. This
determination by the federal government was reviewed pursuant to a formal request by
Virginia. On December 6, 2011, the federal government formally re-affirmed its
determination that Virginia is not in compliance with SORNA due to this issue.

As Virginia law already allows for the registration of juvenile offenders in cases where it
is determined that the facts of the crime are particularly serious, the Crime Commission
recommended that Virginia not amend its sex offender registry laws to require
mandatory registration for juveniles. Doing so would interfere with the discretion of
judges to limit registration of juveniles to those cases where it would be most
appropriate.

For the complete report on the Sex Offender Registry study,
please see Senate Document 8 (2012) at:
http://leg?.state.va.us/DLS /h&sdocs.nsf/5c7ff392dd0ce64d85256ec400674ecb/1342e
660f75433a2285257989005¢c9167?0penDocument






