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Background

e Since the recent acquittal of Casey Anthony
in a Florida state court for the death of her
daughter, Caylee, there has been
widespread interest, notably on
www.change.org and Facebook, to enact a

federal or state law to penalize parents who

fail to report a missing child within 24

hours of their disappearance.
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“Caylee’s Law” Proposal

e The petitions generally state:

Make it a felony for a parent, caretaker or
guardian that does not notify law
enforcement with knowledge of a missing,
deceased, [child] or child in a life threatening
situation in a timely manner.

e There are over 1.25 million online
signatures on www.change.org.
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Virginia Law

e §18.2-323.02. Prohibition against
concealment of dead body; penalty:

Any person who transports, secretes, conceals
or alters a dead body, as defined in § 32.1-
249, with malicious intent and to prevent
detection of an unlawful act or to prevent the
detection of the death or the manner or cause
of death is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
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Virginia Law

e §18.2-371.1(A) penalizes parents, guardians, or
persons responsible for care of a child for willful
acts or omissions “or refusal to provide any
necessary care for the child's health causes or
permits serious injury to the life or health of such
child.” A violation is a Class 4 felony.

e §32.1-283 requires notification to the medical
examiner of deaths by “trauma, injury, violence,
poisoning, accident, suicide or homicide, or
suddenly when in apparent good health, or when
unattended by a physician.” Failing to comply with
this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
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Virginia Law

e The Missing Children Information Clearinghouse (§ 52-31
et. al) is maintained by the Virginia State Police (VSP).

e Receipt of missing child reports (§ 15.2-1718):

Upon receipt of a missing child report by any police or
sheriff’s department, the department shall immediately, but
in all cases within two hours of receiving the report, enter
identifying and descriptive data about the child into the
Virginia Criminal Information Network and the National
Crime Information Center Systems, forward the report to the
Missing Children Information Clearinghouse within the
Department of State Police, notify all other law-enforcement
agencies in the area, and initiate an investigation of the case.
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Missing Children Data

e In general, the VSP have 3 categories that missing children
cases can be classified into:

- Endangered

e Child missing under circumstances indicating his/her
physical safety is in danger.

— Involuntary

e Child missing under circumstances indicating the
disappearance was not voluntary.

— Juveniles

e Child under 18 years of age who is missing but not
considered endangered or involuntary.

— Note: This category should not include children under 12 years
of age.
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Missing Children Data

cases of missing children.

e Of the 383 open cases:
— 6 cases were endangered;
— 11 cases were involuntary; and,
- 366 were juvenile.

Source: Virginia State Police.

Note: These figures represent a snapshot of missing children on July
21st rather than a cumulative total since cases open and close each
day. Data cannot be obtained for total missing children per year.
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Other States

e To date, 7 states have (or are planning) pre-filed
legislation.

— There may be as many as 30 states currently
considering legislation.

e Legislation varies with:

- Time requirements of reporting (immediately, 12hrs.,
24 hrs., 48 hrs.);

- Extent of reporting requirements (missing, death,
location of corpse, or life threatening situation);

— Age of the child (12 years old, under age 18); and,
— Penalties.
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Policy Issues

e Timeframe of reporting
— Is 24 hours appropriate?

e Definition of “life threatening situation” or
“imminent danger”

e Reporting authority

— Missing reports go to law enforcement or 911 call
centers, but deaths are often reported to
EMT /hospitals, medical examiner, funeral homes, etc

e Misuse in custody situations

e Overuse of reporting
— Burden on law enforcement?

VIRGINIA STATE CRIME COMMISSION 11



Discussion




