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Overview

 Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

• 10 Policy Options
• 2 Recommendations

 Expungement and Sealing of Criminal Records

• 1 Policy Option
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DUI

Policy Option 1-A: Repeal the prohibition on 
stops, searches, and seizures based solely on 
the odor of marijuana.
 May also require an amendment to the use of 

marijuana in a vehicle statute.

Policy Option 1-B: Amend the prohibition on 
stops, searches, and seizures based solely on 
the odor of marijuana to create an exception 
for certain DUI-related offenses.
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DUI

Policy Option 2: Add a 3ng/mL per se limit for 
marijuana (THC) across the DUI statutes.

 Meant to establish a bright line and promote public 
awareness of the dangers of THC impaired driving.

 This per se limit would be administrative as 
research does not support a relationship between 
THC levels in the blood and impaired driving.

 The Virginia Code includes administrative per se 
limits for four other drugs.
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DUI - Policy Option #2
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State THC Limit

Colorado* 5ng/mL

Illinois* 5ng/mL

Montana* 5ng/mL

Nevada* 2ng/mL

Ohio 2ng/mL

Pennsylvania 1ng/mL

Washington* 5ng/mL

West Virginia 3ng/mL

* State legalized recreational marijuana.
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DUI

Policy Option 3: Allow for the preliminary 
roadside screening of a person’s saliva for the 
presence of drugs (similar to an alcohol PBT) in 
DUI cases.

 A person could refuse the saliva screening without 
any penalty and the results of the screening would 
not be admissible in court.

 DFS would need to hire 1 FTE research position 
(~$85,000 per year).
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DUI - Policy Option #3
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Advantages Disadvantages

• Rapid results (<10 minutes)
• Screens for a limited number of 

drugs and/or drug categories

• Ease of oral fluid collection • Qualitative assessment only (+/-)

• Minimally invasive • Quality and accuracy of devices 

• Helps to establish probable 
cause

• Price of devices and test kits

• Assists in identifying recent 
drug use or poly drug use 

• Requires training and education
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DUI

Policy Option 4: Require the Commonwealth to 
pay hospital employees who performed a DUI 
blood draw $250 if they appear one time for any 
hearing or trial related to the blood draw.
 Would have a fiscal impact (~5,000 blood draws 

annually performed by variety of individuals).
 Other considerations: how the person receives 

payment, what if the person appears in both district 
and circuit court, and whether to assess the fee to 
the defendant as part of the court costs.
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DUI

Policy Option 5: Require the Department of 
Forensic Science to conduct both alcohol and drug 
screening on all DUI blood draw submissions. DFS 
could screen for certain drugs or all drugs.
 May have a significant fiscal impact for additional 

staffing and resources and could result in a backlog 
of toxicology cases depending on number of drugs 
screened.

 DFS will begin testing all DUI blood draw 
submissions for THC (marijuana) in January 2023.
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DUI

Policy Option 6: Require the Department of 
Motor Vehicles’ Highway Safety Office to collect 
existing data from various sources on DUI 
trends and enforcement across Virginia by both 
locality and individual law enforcement 
agencies and provide an annual comprehensive 
report on the status of impaired driving in the 
Commonwealth.
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DUI – Policy Option 6

The draft legislation includes:
 A requirement to annually collect and report on 

specific DUI data points and trends;
 Language directing government agencies to 

provide data upon request from the DMV; and, 
 That the report be published by December 1st of 

each year, beginning in 2023, and provided to the 
General Assembly, Governor, and Crime 
Commission.
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DUI

Policy Option 7: Require the Office of the Chief 
Medical Examiner (OCME) to perform a blood 
test on all drivers killed in motor vehicle and 
boating crashes and report the results to DMV.

 OCME policy is to collect blood and other fluids for all 
motor vehicle crash (MVC) driver decedents.

 Approximately 90% of MVC driver decedents are 
tested each year. There are numerous reasons why 
someone’s blood may not be collected.
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DUI

Policy Option 8: Amend the driving, boating, 
and commercial DUI refusal statutes to ensure 
procedural consistency across these statutes.
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DUI

Policy Option 9: Require any defendant 
challenging the lawfulness of a DUI arrest in a 
refusal prosecution to file a motion challenging 
the arrest prior to trial.

 This would reverse Green v. Commonwealth, 299 Va. 
593, 856 S.E.2d 587 (2021) (VA Supreme Court).

 Under Green, the defendant is not required to file 
written notice to contest the lawfulness of the DUI 
arrest in advance of a refusal trial.

14



8

VIRGINIA STATE  CRIME COMMISSION

VIR
GINIA STATE

C
R

IM

E  C O M M ISSI O
N

VIR
GINIA STATE

C
R

IM

E  C O M M ISSI O
N

DUI

Policy Option 10: Create a new statute to 
explicitly allow for the admission of accident 
reconstruction expert testimony in a criminal 
case after the expert has been properly qualified 
and a foundation for such testimony has been 
established.

 Accident reconstruction evidence is a complex 
matter that goes beyond DUI cases.
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DUI

Recommendation 1: Continue funding for the 
Virginia State Police (VSP) to provide Drug 
Recognition Expert (DRE), Advanced Roadside 
Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE), and 
drug impaired driving training for both state 
and local law enforcement officers.

 VSP developed three options for consideration 
based on the scope of the training and associated 
costs.
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DUI – Recommendation 1

Option 1: Sustain current DRE and ARIDE 
training.

 $1 million per year for training expenses
• 1 DRE school per year (~12 officers trained)
• 10 ARIDE courses per year (~200 officers trained)

 Requires 1 FTE to coordinate training
• FY24 cost: ~$285,000
• FY25 cost: ~$185,000
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DUI – Recommendation 1

Option 2: Sustain current DRE, expand ARIDE, 
and add SFST training.

 $1 million per year for training expenses
• 1 DRE school per year (~12 officers trained)
• 16 ARIDE courses per year (~320 officers trained)
• Provide SFST training at criminal justice academies

 Requires 5 FTEs to coordinate training statewide
• FY24 cost: ~$1.2 million
• FY25 cost: ~$735,000
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DUI – Recommendation 1

Option 3: Expand both current DRE and ARIDE 
and add SFST training.

 $1 million per year for training expenses
• 2 DRE schools per year (~24 officers trained)
• 20 ARIDE courses per year (~400 officers trained)
• Provide SFST training at criminal justice academies

 Requires 7 FTEs to coordinate training statewide
• FY24 cost: ~$1.7 million
• FY25 cost: ~$1 million
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DUI

Recommendation 2: Request that the Office of 
the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of 
Virginia (OES) include drug impaired driving at 
the upcoming mandatory 2023 District Court 
Judges’ conference.

 Judges have not received DUI specific training at 
this conference within the past 5 years.

 This can be accomplished via a letter request.
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Expungement and Sealing
of Criminal Records
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Expungement and Sealing

Policy Option 1: Amend the expungement and sealing 
statutes to reconcile and align these processes, and to 
streamline the expungement process:

• establish a clear line between expungement and sealing;
• repeal automatic marijuana expungement from the 

expungement chapter and add it into the sealing 
chapter;

• repeal petition-based marijuana drug paraphernalia 
expungement from the expungement chapter and add it 
into the sealing chapter;
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Expungement and Sealing

Amend the expungement and sealing statutes to:
• amend the expungement petition process so that it is 

similar to the sealing petition process;
• ensure that persons who have had their criminal 

records expunged are provided at least the same 
protections as afforded to persons who have had their 
criminal records sealed;

• amend the expungement petition process to authorize 
the use of new technology;

• allow a person to access their own expunged record;
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Expungement and Sealing

Amend the expungement and sealing statutes to:
• provide automated notice of expunged records to 

business screening services in the same manner as 
sealed records; and,

• make other changes to improve the programming of the 
automatic sealing processes.

 Changes that mandate automated communications in 
the expungement process would require additional 
resources and delay the sealing implementation date.
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Discussion
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