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Forensic nursing is a subspecialty of nursing

Patients are victims of a crime

* Sexual Assault *  Domestic Violence
— Adults . .
_ Children Intimate Partner Violence
*  Human trafficking * Elder abuse
» Largest subspecialty of forensic nursing is sexual assault » PERK can be submitted anonymously — VA Code § 19.2-

* Sexual assault exams 11.6 (B), § 19.2-165.1
— patients age 18 and above do not have to report to law enforcement — stored at the Division of Consolidated Labs for a
minimum of 2 years; victim can request 10 additional

— patients age 13 through 17 may be subject to reporting, determined by ;
years to prevent destruction of PERK

program (VA definition of sexual assault includes close-in-age
exemption for 13-15 and 15-17) — canreport to law enforcement any time within

* A sexual assault forensic exam can be with or without a Physical storage period for investigation or prosecution

Evidence Recovery Kits (PERK) — VA Code § 19.2-11.5 et. seq. — patients cannot be charged for a sexual assault
— law enforcement can approve non-PERK exams for patients ages 13 forensic exam with a PERK, or the cost of collecting
through17 or storing a PERK
— patient is responsible for cost of exam if PERK not used
— patients can stop exam at any point; or decline any parts exam
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Assaults and Exams

Mental Health

5,726 Sexual Assaults Reported to % Emotional &

Virginia Police in 2017:

Criminal Justice System

Nationally - out of 230 sexual assaults
Psychological reported to police:
4 5 : 2 20% lead to an arrest
< 41.4% adults (=18 years of age) < Post-Traumatic
%+ 58.6% children (<18) Stress % 3.91% referred to prosecution
# 17% of reported sexual assaults

involved a payment for PERK
forensic exam

.
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2.17% felony convictions

Sexual Health
+ Unwanted

Virginia —out of 2,370 Adult Sexual
*  39% of PERK are submitted

Assault Arrests
5 Pregnancy **  31% never prosecuted
anonymously each year % Sexually < 42% no conviction for sexual assault
Transmitted
6% of anonymous PERK have been Disease
released back to law enforcement

Source: JCHC analysis of information from US Bureau
of Justice, Office of the Virginia Attorney General,
Virginia Department of State Police, the Sexual Assaull
Forensic Exam (SAFE) program. And Rape, Abuse

Incest National Network, National Sexual Assault
Hotline.

since 2017 for prosecution

% Exposure to HIV

Physical Health
+ Injuries from
Assault

(RAINN.ORG, Call 800-656-4673 (HOPE)

- RECOMMENDATION I

Standardize Training: Forensic nurse training should be standardized; forensic nurses should be a recognized subcategory of
registered nurses

Purpose: insure that all nurses meet a minimum set of standards regardless of where they practice; create an opportunity to “flag”
any medical claims filed that include a forensic nurse exam so that the claim can be processed seamlessly while at the same time
insuring patient privacy through system edits related to services provided

* Recommended training guidelines

International Association of Forensic Nurses (IAFN), US

In Virginia: Provided at hospitals or programs where forensic nurses are
employed
Department of Justice and the American Nurse

¢ Generally follow IAFN guidelines and the Forensic Nursing Core Curriculum
Credentialing Center (ANCC) Use of online training depends on program
— Registered Nurse (RN) or Advanced Practice
Registered Nurse (APRN)

v’ free tribal training course - limited availability throughout the year

v TAFN training courses
— two years experience — preferably emergency, - Adqlt —'$350/ $500 (IAFN member/nonmember)
critical. and/or maternal child health — Pediatric - $450/$600 (IAFN member/nonmember)
41 hours of online training/classroom * JCHC survey found the following about clinical training:
v
— 40 hours clinical experience with guidance of a

can take between 2 months to a year, or longer
v
physician, advanced practice nurse, or a SANE

length of training depends on employment status of nurse — full, part

time, or a PRN (as needed), and patient volume
may include court and law enforcement observation v

some programs require 10, others up to 50, supervised pelvic exams
Once fully trained, a registered nurse can be v’ some programs require court observations; some require “ride-alongs”
— credentialed as a SANE-A and/or SANE-P with police
— certified by the IAFN \
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hospitals and programs generally but not always cover costs of nurse
training
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— RECOMMENDATION -

Hospital referral protocol: Hospitals license requirements should include requirements for forensic examination referral protocol

Purpose: to make certain that hospitals without a forensic nurse examiner program refer patients to a hospital that not only has a

program but also a nurse available to do the exam. And, to determine exactly where the forensic nurse examiner programs are
located

A current list of hospitals that perform forensic examinations does not exist

Knowledge of programs are based on an informal network of forensic nurses, Commonwealth's Attorneys and a list posted on the IAFN
website

* JCHC analysis identified
— 16 hospitals providing various forensic nursing medical exam services
o both adult and pediatric sexual assault, domestic and intimate violence, human trafficking, elder abuse
o 1 hospital only provides pediatric forensic nurse services
— 1 non-hospital based mobile forensic nursing service
o 13 hospitals (Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Franklin, Southampton County)
— Programs start with sexual assault and expand into other services - child sexual assault and abuse, domestic violence

* 11 of the 16 forensic medical exam hospitals have Trauma Care designations

— 8 of the 19 Trauma Care hospitals in Virginia do not offer forensic examinations
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* Law e.nforcement . Law Enforcement Survey Reponses
agencies report being =
turned away from Number that reported being sent away 13 of 34
hospitals when seeking a * no staff on duty 10
forensic exam * do not do forensic exams 3
No assistance finding another hospital 8
Went to more than one hospital 7

JCHC survey of Virginia sheriffs and police departments (May/June 2019); 34 (20%) of the 169 law
enforcement agencies responded

* EMS destination data

reviewed to determine if the Hospital survey based on EMS Ambulance Destination Data Responses

reason for the call was Number of hospitals responding to survey concerning availability of forensic

clearly a sexual assault or cxam 90f16

domestic violence incident |+ Reported no forensic nurse program 9

— 16 hospitals were Hospitals that refer patients to other hospitals 7

identified and Hospital that transfer patients but will collect evidence if necessary 1
surveyed to determine Programs that call in a SANE Nurse to do the exam 1
if they performed

forensic examinations Source: JCHC analysis of VDH Office of Emergency Medical Services data.
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Examples of patient-tracking from location of assault to a forensic exam program

- Bon Secour Patient Flow

Carilion New River Medical
Center Patient Flow

Il NOVA Patient Flow

y,
; Trauma Center 4~
V 4
’ 4

L INOVA Ewing Forensic
7y + Itati

b

@
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Bon S§Eours Richmond

[agh v

Forensic Nursing Services
O

0 40 80 160 Miles
L ] 1 ] | 1 ] ] J

Includes 3 of the 16 hospital-based programs to illustrate the distances traveled for a forensic exam
Source: JCHC analysis of 2018 SAFE payment claims. Map prepared by Virginia Department of Health
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If you buildit..... Fairfax INOVA Forensic Nurse Program
Annual Change Before and After
* In 2016 Fairfax INOVA Converting P/T Forensic Nurses to F/T in 2016

— changed program, converting forensic nurses from Percent
part-time to full-time Type of Exam 2015 2018 Clrergs
— exams increased 52% Adult Acute Sexual Assault 221 294 33%
Office added in Loudon C 2018 Domestic Violence 66 141 114%
lee added I Loudon ounty, Pediatric Acute Sexual Assault 72 139 93%

— number of exams increased 87.43% S -
L . . o Pediatric Chronic Sexual Assault * | 96 137 43%

— domestic violence forensic exams increased 500% -
Child Abuse 69 69 0%
. Follow up & Suspect Exams 89 154 73%
Fairfax INOVA

e Totals 613 934 52%

Loudon County Office Opened April-2018
- Forensic Exam Patient Originating in Loudon County -

* Chronic pediatric exams (non-acute) - assault occurred outside of
the timeframe for evidence collection but something forensically

2016 2018 % Change significant, e.g. a sexually transmitted infection or old injury, can be
found or identified.
Total 74 139 87.83%
Number
Domestic 5 30 500%

Violence 8
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- University of Virginia l

Forensic Nurse Examination Program, 2016 to 2018
* In 2017 University of Change from| Percent
Virginia 2016 2017 2018 2016 Change
— changed staffing and Sexual assault 63 80 98 35 56%
added services Child sexual abuse 9 40 69 60 667%
— exams increased 129% | Child physical abuse 0 20 30 30 100%
Elder abuse 0 2 3 3 100%
Domestic Violence 0 29 64 64 100%
Strangulation 0 16 37 37 100%
Follow-up exams 0 16 33 33 100%
Total Exams 72 203 334 262 129%
Augusta Regional SANE Program
Changed Services in 2014
* In 2014 Augusta Regional Change:
— added services 2013 to Percent
— exams increased 112% 2013 [2014] 2015 | 2016 2016 Change
Sexual Assault 28 31 32 50 22 79%
Child Sexual Assault | 23 20 17 25 2 9%
Strangulation 0 6 15 33 33 100%
9

Total 51 57 64 108 57 112% -

RECOMMENDATION
Sexual Assault Response Teams (SART): should include other health care providers; SARTSs are created by Virginia Code § 15.2-
1627.4, led by Commonwealth Attorneys; required to meet annually; purpose is to develop a comprehensive and trauma-informed
response for sexual assault victims

Purpose: by including other health care providers on the SARTSs there will be a built in, system wide, inclusion of the entire health
care community into the conversation about how best to respond to sexual assaults, this may lead to more local opportunities for
exams and follow up exams by the different providers

* Location of forensic exam programs
— the hospitals and those designated as trauma centers O Underserved areas

e Location of underserved areas . Forensic Hospital

— Community health centers and local health
departments may

v provide needed follow-up care ‘ Trauma Center
v' provide exam room for mobile forensic nurses
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Forensic Sexual Assault Exam (SAFE) Payment Program

* Administered by the Virginia Victim Fund (VVF) at the
Virginia Workers Compensation Commission (WCC)

— Code of VA §19.2-165.1; §19.2-368.11:1(F)

* Patients incur no cost for sexual assault exams
— exam has to be within 120 hours of assault
— assault occurred in Virginia
— must include PERK
— anonymous or report to police, or authorized by
Commonwealth Attorney

+ Patients incur no cost for follow up exams
— must be directly related to initial exam
— or authorized by Commonwealth Attorney if reported

* In 2018 the SAFE program paid $1.44 million
— 1,513 claims for 968 patients
v vacant position within program delayed $400,000 in
provider payments until 2019

* Patient is responsible for all costs

— after 120 hours unless reported and authorized by
Commonwealth Attorney (non-acute exam)

— exam does not include PERK unless reported and
authorized by Commonwealth Attorney (non-acute exam)

— treatment of injuries, even if they occurred during assault

— treatment of existing medical conditions, even if made
worse by assault

— follow-up appointments, medications, lab work not
directly related to initial forensic exam

— medications filled after forensic exam

— counseling

!

|

Medical Exam & Service Expenses
Related to a Victim of Crime

Forensic Sexual Assault Exam (SAFE)
Administered by the Virginia Victim Fund (VVF)
Code of VA §19.2-165.1;§19.2-368.11:1(F)

]

Direct Bill:

Hospitals /
Physicians

Patient / Victim
Anonymous or

Reported to Police Pharmacies /

Transportation

SAFE Program
$1.200 cap for Acute Exam/PERK
$300 cap for follow up exam

$800 cap for Non-Acute medical
screen >120 hours after event or
Non-PERK Exam

typically reimbwrsing at a rate of 60%-70% of chaiges.

SAFE Program: Prescriptions and transportation are not included in the $1200, $800, and $300 Memorandum of Agreement (MOA)
rates. Prescriptions are paid in full (after consideration of any insurance billing). Separate MOA rates with transportation providers,

_
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— RECOMMENDATION -

Sexual assault victims access to funds: Sexual assault patients receiving a forensic exam should be able to access all funds
available for medical expenses

Purpose: sexual assault exam claims should be handled seamlessly like all other health care claims so that any service provided
as a result of the assault is paid for and the patient does not have to “jump” through hoops or be forced to file a police report just
to get her medical expenses covered

In addition to the SAFE program, victims may access other funds for medical services not covered by SAFE

*  VVF administered by WCC
— requires report to police and cooperation with investigation
— requires patient to apply and submit medical expenses
* Anonymous PERK
— 39% of sexual assault exams
— eliminates the ability of a patient to access VVF
— patient is responsible for medical bills not covered by SAFE program
*  No PERK Exam
— eliminates providers from filing a SAFE claim unless patient reports to police
— or authorized by Commonwealth’s Attorney
* Of the 968 unique patient claims paid by SAFE program (2018)
— only 77 (8%) filed claims from other victim funds

* The Criminal Fund administered by Office of Executive Secretary of Supreme Court
— authorized by Commonwealth’s Attorney, funds used to pay for medical evidence necessary to establish a crime has occurred 13
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RECOMMENDATION

Amend Explanation of Benefits Code: The Bureau of Insurance should establish regulations to protect the privacy of patients who
are dependents and can consent to their own care as well as patients who are victims of sexual assault and domestic or intimate
partner violence

Purpose: The age of dependent coverage is now 26. Under current Virginia law all explanation of benefits (EOBs) are sent or made
available to the “owner” of the health insurance policy. A mechanism should be created in VA Code to insure that adult-dependents
covered under someone else’s health insurance policy can maintain their privacy when they are receiving their health care. For sexual
assault and domestic violence victims this is more critical. College students will not file a report or even get a complete forensic
nurse exam if they think their parents will find out what happened. Victims of domestic violence will not seek medical attention if
they think the perpetrator will find out they went for any kind of help

» Explanation of Benefits (EOB) * Victims of domestic and/or intimate partner violence
— sent to policy holders not person receiving covered medical — refuse services out of fear
services

* Virginia law on EOBs needs to be updated
— reflect coverage of adult dependents
— recognize privacy needs of victims of assault and abuse

* Spouse, and children through age 26, covered by another person | . Hipaa provides for a right to request restriction (45 CFR §
— college students 164.522)

— domestic / intimate partners

— VA Code § 38.2-3407.4 (explanation of benefits) does not
protect patients who are victims of assault, violence or abuse

— individual can request restrictions on protected health

* College students do not want parents or others to know information for treatment, payment, or use &
— refuse exam disclosure
— may only request prevention services (e.g., sexually — state law can require carriers to accept a request
transmitted diseases, unwanted pregnancy) through use of a common form

14
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— RECOMMENDATION -

_

Current reimbursements do not cover costs: The reimbursement rate for forensic exams should be increased and the
reimbursement process should be improved

Purpose: Hospitals and other health care providers, even non-profits, are businesses. Forensic nurse examinations need to be
priced based on the full costs of the exam and in a similar way that all other health care services are priced. The exams are

labor intensive, time consuming and low patient volume. By increasing the reimbursements to cover the actual costs, hospitals
in all areas of the state may get more involved in having a forensic nurse exam program and more health care providers in
general may be more accessible for follow up care

. Current Program Description SAFE Payment
» All forensic nurse programs
reported Acute medical forensic exam — within first 120 hours $1.200
— exams last between 4 and 6 with PERK ’
hours.,.up to 12 houfs Non-Acute medical forensic exam — after 120 hours, $800
— condition of the patient authorized by Commonwealth Attorney
lengthens exam time -
. . Follow-up forensic exam $300
— involvement of a companion,
family member or other Transportation covered for travel to initial forensic Memo. of
support person(s) adds to time exam but not follow-up Agreement with
Medications for STI, unwanted pregnancy and HIV providers /
post prevention covered at time of exam vouchers

—415

- SAFE program reimbursements should be increased .

Increase reimbursement to estimated actual cost

adjustment
gl — acute exam $1,773
non-acute (no PERK) $1,560 — non-acute $1,183
— follow up $443

follow up $1,046

Alternative recommendation using hospital inflation

— court cost should be added

HIV follow up $913 (if necessary) Source: http://'www.in2013dollars.com/Hospital-

court requirements $1,641

services/price-inflation/2010-to-2019?amount=1200

acute exam $2,900
non-acute (no PERK) $1,800
follow up $1,500

* Fiscal impact $6 million

*  Workers Compensation Commission (WCC) approved SAFE administrators to pursue rate increases with the Department
of Planning and Budget (August 27, 2019)

* Proposal also includes: explore payment of injuries at time of assault, include 5 trauma-informed counseling sessions
consistent with Virginia Victim Fund

16
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— RECOMMENDATION -

Examine feasibility of moving programs to DMAS: An Implementation Work Group should be established to determine
the feasibility of transferring the Sexual Assault Forensic Examination (SAFE) program and all medical expenses from the
Virginia Workers Compensation Commission to the Department of Medical Assistance Services

Purpose: DMAS has a medical claims processing computer system in place that can accept all claims as medical claims,
implement edits to insure privacy, process and coordinate other health insurance that may be available (Medicaid, Medicare
and Tri-care) because their system is designed to process health insurance claims whether they are complex or not. In
addition, DMAS has a relationship with most health care providers in the state, does provider training on a regular basis,
performs audit functions to prevent fraud and abuse and has the ability to process claims seamlessly so that the patient is
not responsible for any expenses associated with the assault. DMAS already provides medical claims processing services
for 2 state-only programs (Temporary Detention Order (TDO) and Uninsured Medical Catastrophe Fund)

» Patient and provider friendly .

electronic filing and payment process by health care
providers

modifier designating forensic nurse examine
appropriate level of reimbursement
suppress EOB

provider training

Department of Medical Assistance Services

expertise in processing medical claims
coordinates benefits with third parties

has extensive access to health care provider
community for outreach and training

can suppress EOBs electronically

di
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APPENDIX I

Budget Bill - HB1700 (Chapter 854, 2019)
Circuit Courts (Item 40.3)

General District Courts (Item 41.E.)

Juvenile and Domestic Relations (Item 42.E.)

Combined District Court (Item 43.E.)

Total

in 2018
— backlog eliminated during 2019

_

Court transfers are the source of funds for SAFE program

* 6-month vacancy at WCC within SAFE program caused delays and backlog of $400,000 of provider payments

Amount of Transfer
$880,000

$40,000

$870,000

$95,000

$1,885,000

18
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APPENDIX II
Examples of states with forensic nurse training and supervision in state law

» Illinois Attorney General Office
— 40 hours classroom
— 8 hours clinical
— Observation at Criminal Trial Proceedings

* Maryland Board of Nursing
— 40 hours classroom
— 40 hours clinical rotation - Board maintains a list of approved training locations

* North Carolina Board of Nursing
— 40 hours classroom
— 16 hours minimum clinical -Board maintains a list of approved training locations

* Texas Office of Attorney General
— 80 hours training in approved program, includes clinical
— 15 pelvic exams
— 16 hours courtroom observation

(MA, NJ and KY also have state forensic nurse training requirements in state law)

—419
APPENDIX III
Examples of states with EOB laws that protect patient privacy

» California (SB 138, 2013)
— allows covered individuals to submit a “confidential communications request” to their health insurer
— requires insurers to comply if the request involves sensitive services defined by the law, such as sexual assault services, and/or
if the information that might be revealed could endanger the patient

* Maryland (SB 790, 2014)
— permits patients to submit a form developed by the Insurance Commissioner that requests EOBs go to an alternative address

* Massachusetts (S. 2296, 2018)
— permits patients to require their insurance carriers to send their medical information only to them as opposed to the
policyholder
— requires insurance carriers to use a common summary of payments form to be developed by the Massachusetts Division of
Insurance
— if no further payments are required a person may request that a common summary of payments form not be sent for specific
services or procedures

10
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- APPENDIX IV I

Illinois Comprehensive Sexual Assault Act (HB 5245, 2018)

* Requires
— medical forensic exam for sexual assault survivors (if assault occurred within 7 days)
v’ done by “Qualified Medical Provider” (QMP) — trained as a sexual assault nurse examiner or sexual assault forensic
examiner
v SANE training for the nurses provided free by Office of Attorney General
— only SAFEs and SANE: can collect evidence using sexual assault kit
— pediatric patients (under 13) - QMPs must be child abuse pediatricians or pediatric SANEs
—  QMP must be available within 90 minutes from a patient arrival
— QMP requirement for hospitals begin January 1, 2022

* Every provider doing a medical forensic exam needs to offer photo documentation of injuries

* All licensed hospitals are required to
— create areawide and hospital based sexual assault treatment plan
— choose a classification
v’ treatment hospital — adult and pediatric medical forensic services
v’ treatment hospital with approved pediatric transfer - adults and adolescents, transfer pediatric patients after a
screening exam and stabilization
v’ transfer hospital - medical screening exam and appropriate stabilization, patients are transferred for forensic medical
exam

*  All emergency room clinical providers required to do 2 hours of sexual assault training, repeated every 2 years

21
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